SEO Tactics

September 16, 2010 § Leave a comment

I’ve been doing a lot of research for my internship.  Sometimes, I’ve been struggling to find the right information and I’m curious about how I can better myself in the search engine optimization area.  Lee Oden, the CEO of TopRank Online Marketing, wrote a top 10 list of tactics to improve content search performance.  I found the tips to be helpful and thought I would share a few and give my own insight.

The content must be “discoverable by search engines.”  That’s pretty simple.  It’s all about using the right keywords and taking advantage of things like RSS feeds, tags, and links.

Oden says instead of deleting old content, create an archive.  This would definitely help me when trying to find older articles and information.

Making it easy for people to save and share the information helps, too.  By taking advantage of social networking sites and bookmarking services, the ease of finding things online can increase.  I like to post anything that I’ve done on my blog, Facebook, and Twitter.  I have different friends in all three networks, so posting to all three will help me spread my own information.

When writing a press release, Oden says to focus on one or two phrases, like in a headline or subhead, and use them periodically throughout the release.  I didn’t think about this, but then again the right keywords will help.

Here’s the link if you’re interested in reading the entire SEO list.

I think research is very crucial and if you can’t find the right information then it could potentially harm you later on.  I’m trying to find creative ways to look up information these days.  It’s a process, but I’m finding that digging around deep enough is the key.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading SEO Tactics at PR stands for Pretty Rockin'.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

